An introduction

hello there graphic label

Hello, and welcome to my very first *eek* post. My name is Jenni, I live in Leeds and work in an advertising agency.  I’m in my late 20s, am passionate about wildlife, especially birds, and am a true country bumpkin. I love walking in the hills, camping, Scotland (one day I hope to live there), lashing of butter, my pet ferrets Forest and Bramble and hot water bottles. I studied my degree in Leeds and returned here a few years later to be close to my new job, However, this is about to change…
The Thrifty Magpies Nest Jenni with ferret
My boyfriend and I have wanted to live together for a while but have taken some time to settle on a plan. Ideally, we would love to live in the countryside with a garden to plant vegetables, and for Forest and Bramble to have more space to play.  But we dream of owning a small holding where we can live a simpler, more sustainable life, in the future.
Due to our jobs it would mean we would need to rent in what is know as ‘The Golden Triangle’; the area between Harrogate, North Leeds and York.  And it has that nickname for a very good reason; it’s one of the most expensive areas to live outside of London. For a 2 bedroom home avec garden in the gently rolling hills of North Leeds we would be looking at a rent of over £700 a month! It makes me gasp every time I think of that amount of money! Then there’s ‘leccy, gas, water and internet rates on top of that!
We asked ourselves how on earth we would save for our own home while throwing such a large amount of money at a rented house. We aren’t fortunate to have the help from relatives to get on the property ladder, like some of our friends have, so have to come up with it ourselves. This called for a re-think. We needed to save but how? We considered living in a caravan on a farm, one of us moving to the others’ house share, staying as we are… but none of these options felt right. We still wanted our own home together but somewhere that would allow us to save.
A couple of weeks ago, while on my lunch break, I looked at Rightmove and set the ‘maximum rent’ filter to £500 and a property popped up for only £420 a month. I emailed it to my boyfriend straight away and the same day we booked a viewing. A week later we had put our application in to rent it!
It’s small, very small, but it’s cheap (more on the house later!) and means we can live together and still have enough money to save for the dream.  Together, we have made a commitment to save for 12 months. We will create a budget (more on that later too) we can stick to, and live a thriftier life.
This is what has brought me to start this blog. It will be a diary of my journey, a place to meet people in similar situations, share my newly gained thrifty knowledge and maintain my enthusiasm/sanity along the way. Wish me luck!

By Jenni Tulip

I'm a bright-haired, hill walking, magpie whispering, skull collecting, tree hugging, money saving, bird watching, happy campervanning, ferret fanatic, woodland dweller sharing my stories and passion for the outdoors to inspire you to immerse yourself in nature.

  • Anonymous

    Looking forward to hearing more!

  • Anonymous

    Love this 🙂 It's so true about getting onto the property ladder without any help. Can't wait to read the next post. Good luck! x

  • Hey Jenni! Welcome to blogging. Good luck in your new house, I love your plans of a more sustainable life.

  • This is Brilliant! Im so excited for you!!! You make me want to live in the triangle! haha. Cant wait for the next instalments….

  • Thanks for your kind comments! x

  • The Golden Triangle is a lovely place to live but you wont have any money left to do anything else! Thanks for reading x

  • Thank you! x

  • Hi Jenni
    I look forward to following your journey – great job on finding a place with low rent! 🙂

  • This comment has been removed by the author.

  • Hi Laura
    It took months of waiting for something to come up and we pounced on it at the first opportunity! Very excited for the move and the start of our big saving plan. Thanks for reading and I will definitely be getting lots of tips from you 🙂 x